Welcome to the Mong Circle

The Mong Circle is the name of the traditional government body in the administrative district of Khagrachari in the Chittagong Hill Tracts.   Headed by the Mong Chief, or Raja, the Mong Circle is responsible for the operation of customary law within the 88 Mouza areas, and for the management of land and natural resources such as forests and water sources.   These vital functions are delivered through an extensive network of 88 Headman and 950 Karbari, with one Headmen governing a Mouza of up to 40 villages.  The Karbari are local community leaders who resolve disputes, coordinate development projects and act as a link between village governance and the various formal agencies of the CHT.

The Mong Circle is the most northerly of the three Circle areas of the Chittagong Hill Tracts, the other two being the Chakma Circle of Rangamati District, and the Bohmong Circle of Bandarban District.  Raja Saching Prue Chowdhury is the community leader and Chief of the Circle Office and its administrative activities, with traditional government responsibilities delegated by the Chittagong Hill Tract Regulations 1900.

The Raja is responsible for:

  • Collecting Jum and Groupland tax through the Headmen
  • Protecting local natural resources, in particular the forests and watercourses.
  • Leading the customary law and justice system
  • Running the Kings Court as the final appellate court for the customary law system
  • Promoting and protecting  the local cultures and traditions of the Chittagong Hill Tracts.